Montgomery County DWI Attorney

(936) 703-2122

Case Results
Arrested for DWI? Contact Douglas Atkinson today!
DWI Defense Practice Areas
DWI
ALR Hearings
Breath and Blood Tests
Challenging BAC Evidence
DPS Hearings
DWI Defenses
DWI & Drugs
DWI FAQ
DWI Hit & Run
DWI Penalties
DWI Resources
DWI With Injury
Expunction
Felony DWI
Field Sobriety Tests
Implied Consent
Multiple DWI Offenses
First Offense DWI
Second Offense DWI
Third Offense DWI
Fourth Offense DWI
Nondisclosure
Occupational Driver's Licenses
Out of State DWI
Underage DWI
Criminal Defense
Contact Us
NAME:
EMAIL:
PHONE:
--
CLIENT:
TELL US ABOUT YOUR CASE:
Douglas Wayne AtkinsonClients’ ChoiceAward 2017 10.0Douglas Wayne Atkinson
322 Metcalf Street, Conroe, TX 77301

936.703.2122

Click here to see our latest news.
Watch our videos.
Conroe Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer Why Hire Doug Atkinson Why Hire Doug Atkinson Fees & Payments Case Results Contact Us

Montgomery County DWI Lawyer

Second Offense DWI Attorney in Montgomery County, Texas

A second DWI conviction can have disastrous effects on a person; even more severe than for a first offense DWI. Perhaps one of the most important things to note is that any previous DWI conviction will count on a person’s record, regardless of how long ago the offense was committed. This means a DWI conviction from 10 or more years ago could cause you to be charged with a second offense DWI and face increased penalties!

Don’t leave your future up to chance if you are facing charges for a second DWI offense in Texas. Doug Atkinson is not only experienced and knowledgeable; his proven methods of DWI defense have enabled him to help hundreds of clients through his many years of practice. Since 1998, attorney Atkinson has been helping drivers just like you who are facing even the most complex and serious drunk driving charges throughout Montgomery County, Texas.

DWI Penalties for a Second Drunk Driving Offense

A second offense DWI is a Class A Misdemeanor under Texas law. According to this, a person may face the following penalties if convicted for a second DWI:

  • A minimum county jail sentence of 30 days
  • Maximum jail sentence of 1 year
  • Fines of up to $4,000
  • Minimum 180 day license suspension, up to 2 years
  • 80 to 200 hours of community service

Additionally, a person convicted of a second offense DWI will be required to install an ignition interlock device in his/her vehicle after release from jail on bond. This is a condition of release and is therefore mandatory. An ignition interlock device is like a breath test machine which is installed in the vehicle and will not allow it to start unless a clean (free from alcohol) breath sample is provided by the driver. Another downside of a second DWI conviction is that the driver will not be able to apply for an occupational driver’s license until at least 1 year has passed since his/her conviction.

Contact Montgomery County DWI lawyer Doug Atkinson regarding your second DWI today!

Douglas W. Atkinson - Montgomery County DWI Lawyer
Located at 322 Metcalf Street Conroe, TX 77301. View Map
Phone: (936) 703-2122
Website: