Montgomery County DWI Attorney

(936) 703-2122

Case Results
Arrested for DWI? Contact Douglas Atkinson today!
DWI Defense Practice Areas
DWI
ALR Hearings
Breath and Blood Tests
Challenging BAC Evidence
DPS Hearings
DWI Defenses
DWI & Drugs
DWI FAQ
DWI Hit & Run
DWI Penalties
DWI Resources
DWI With Injury
Expunction
Felony DWI
Field Sobriety Tests
Implied Consent
Multiple DWI Offenses
Nondisclosure
Occupational Driver's Licenses
Out of State DWI
Underage DWI
Criminal Defense
Contact Us
NAME:
EMAIL:
PHONE:
--
CLIENT:
TELL US ABOUT YOUR CASE:
Douglas Wayne AtkinsonClients’ ChoiceAward 2017 10.0Douglas Wayne Atkinson
322 Metcalf Street, Conroe, TX 77301

936.703.2122

Click here to see our latest news.
Watch our videos.
Conroe Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer Why Hire Doug Atkinson Why Hire Doug Atkinson Fees & Payments Case Results Contact Us

Penalties for a DWI in Montgomery County, TX

Montgomery County DWI Attorney

The penalties for DWI in Texas vary depending upon the number of DWI convictions you have had and the circumstances surrounding the current DWI incident. For each subsequent DWI conviction, the penalties and fines increase.

If you have been charged with a first or subsequent DWI, choose Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law to represent you and fight for your legal rights. You have the right to be treated fairly and according to the standardized procedures adopted into law. Don't merely accept a plea bargain and suffer the consequences of a DWI without first consulting with an experienced and skilled DWI attorney.

Breakdown of Texas DWI Penalties

A first DWI offense is a class B misdemeanor which carries a fine up to $2,000, a minimum of 72 hours jail time and a maximum 6 month jail term, and community service not less than 24 hours or no more than 100 hours. Usually, a first offense DWI offender will be granted community supervision or probation for any jail term sentence, meaning the jail term is suspended pending the successful completion of the probation ordered.

If the probation is not successfully completed, the court will then require the offender to serve the jail term which was suspended. In addition, the court will require a drug and alcohol evaluation at a court approved facility, the completion of a DWI education class within 180 days from the date of conviction, completing what is known as a victim impact panel, paying a monthly supervision fee, and maintaining employment while committing no other crimes during the course of the probation.

A second DWI offense includes many of the same penalties, but for longer terms and increased amounts of fines, and also includes the requirement that a deep lung air device vehicle interlock system is installed in your vehicle at your cost. More information from the State of Texas Department of Motor Vehicles regarding DWI penalties may be found here. Don't plead guilty or assume that there is no need for an attorney if you have been charged with a DWI.

Contact Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law now to arrange your free initial consultation.

Douglas W. Atkinson - Montgomery County DWI Lawyer
Located at 322 Metcalf Street Conroe, TX 77301. View Map
Phone: (936) 703-2122
Website: