Montgomery County DWI Attorney

(936) 703-2122

Case Results
Arrested for DWI? Contact Douglas Atkinson today!
DWI Defense Practice Areas
DWI
ALR Hearings
Breath and Blood Tests
Challenging BAC Evidence
DPS Hearings
DWI Defenses
DWI & Drugs
DWI FAQ
DWI Hit & Run
DWI Penalties
DWI Resources
DWI With Injury
Expunction
Felony DWI
Field Sobriety Tests
Implied Consent
Multiple DWI Offenses
Nondisclosure
Occupational Driver's Licenses
Out of State DWI
Underage DWI
Criminal Defense
Contact Us
NAME:
EMAIL:
PHONE:
--
CLIENT:
TELL US ABOUT YOUR CASE:
322 Metcalf Street, Conroe, TX 77301

936.703.2122

Click here to see our latest news.
Watch our videos.
Home Why Hire Douglas Atkinson? Fees & Payments Case Results Contact Us

DPS Hearing Attorney in Montgomery County, Texas

Arrested for DWI? You only have 15 days to save your license!

After a DWI arrest, an individual has only 15 days to contact the Texas Department of Public Safety and schedule a DPS hearing regarding the suspension of their driver’s license. The failure to schedule this hearing within the given time frame will result in automatic license suspension 40 days after the initial date of the drunk driving arrest. Doug Atkinson understands how to deal with DPS hearings and how to offer effective representation that can benefit not only the outcome of the hearing but the outcome of any criminal proceedings as well.

He has been in private practice since 1998, helping hundreds of clients with their driving while intoxicated cases; securing successful outcomes even in the face of complex and serious charges. Having professional legal representation at your DPS hearing will only benefit the outcome of your hearing, and may even help your DWI case as a whole, so you should not hesitate to contact our Montgomery County DWI lawyer as soon as possible.

Fighting the Suspension of Your Driver's License

DPS hearings, also referred to as ALR hearings, are administrative hearings conducted by the DPS (Department of Public Safety), who has the authority to suspend or revoke your driving privileges in conjunction with a DWI arrest or certain other traffic offenses. During this hearing, the DPS will determine whether to suspend your license. Suspension may occur if you are found to have failed chemical tests (breath or blood tests) or if you refused chemical tests.

  • Chemical test failure: 90 day license suspension, for first offense DWI.
  • Chemical test refusal: 180 day suspension, for first refusal.

DPS Hearing Legal Representation: Attorney Doug Atkinson

Doug Atkinson is a criminal defense lawyer who can provide effective legal representation during DPS hearings in order to help his clients avoid having their driver’s license suspended or revoked. Additionally, by preparing for the DPS hearing as he would for a criminal trial, Attorney Atkinson is able to meet with success and also begin preparation and introduce evidence which may be helpful if and when the case goes to criminal court. Contact Doug Atkinson today!

Douglas W. Atkinson - Montgomery County DWI Lawyer
Located at 322 Metcalf Street Conroe, TX 77301. View Map
Phone: (936) 703-2122
Website: